Please be sure to read all information as set forth by the County Clerk. This is by no means an end all to the information, you should also check with your specific county to make absolutely sure you have all of the information you need.
(FYI: All punctuation, grammar, and capitalization are the responsibility of the County Clerk’s Office.)
Here are some common laws and reminders to keep in mind:
1. Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry. If a person is between the ages of 16 and 18 years, the license will be issued only with the written consent of the parents, guardian or custodian. Consent forms are available.
2. Wisconsin does not require a premarital exam or blood tests.
3. The license application fee is per couple not per person.
4. Make sure to check with your clerk about accepted payment forms and refund policies.
5. Web address to obtain out-of-state birth, death or divorce records http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm., this is a useful site to visit.
6. When someone is married out of the United States, it is their responsibility to obtain the proper legal paper(s) from that country. It is important to get certified copies before you leave the foreign country and if the certificate is in a foreign language, you should obtain notarized translations of the document. This document will be your only proof of marriage. If a marriage is performed in a foreign country, a marriage license cannot be filed in Wisconsin.